Do you have to go to Driving School in California?
Do you have to go to driving school in California? The answer is not as clear and concise as it could be for teens. Therefore, the question gets asked a lot. However, there is an easier way to break it down. We need to deal with a few different numbers.
Do you Have to go to Driving School in California?
Do you have to go to driving school in California? The answer is yes for some teens and no for others; the answer is more complex. The answer is yes; most teens must attend a driving school. However, there are a few exceptions.
First, it is essential to understand the process. Teens can start the licensing path when they turn 15.5 years old. They will need to attend a driving school, complete the course, pass a written test at the DMV, receive a learner’s permit, practice driving for 6 months, and then take a driving test at the DMV and get a driver’s license.
The teen will have a driver’s license by the time they turn 16.5 years old if everything is done well enough. However, this is not the same process that all teens in California can go through; there are options. However, those options come at the cost of time.
Getting a Driver’s License at 17 Years Old
Do you have to go to a driving school in California? The answer is still yes. Teens who are 17 years old will still need to attend a driving school in California to get a driver’s license. However, this is where things start to shift.
Once a teen turns 17.5, the driving school requirement drops. However, teens 17.5 years old and under 18 must apply for a learner’s permit first. That means they will still need to take the written test, which is why driving school is still recommended.
The DMV will require teens to know the answers to the questions on the written test, and driving school is where those answers are learned.
Getting a Driver’s License at 18 Years Old
Do you have to go to a driving school in California? The answer is no, but only if you are 18 years old or older. Teens that are 18 can apply for their driver’s license and take the driving test immediately. However, anyone with a driver’s license is expected to know the driving laws in California.
For example, a driver is speeding in a school zone. However, that driver didn’t attend driving school and didn’t know the speed limit was 25 MPH in a school zone; there was no noticeable sign in this area. A police officer pulls over the driver and gives them a ticket.
Unfortunately, “I didn’t know” is not a valid excuse to get out of a ticket. This is why driving school is still highly recommended for all drivers of all ages who are applying for the first time.
Varsity Driving Academy
Varsity Driving Academy is the best driving school in Orange County, California. Teens and adults of all legal driving ages can attend. Students will learn all of the information they need to become safe drivers and pass the written test at the DMV.
Students will also get defensive driver training during behind the wheel training. Some schools skip defensive driver training, and others charge extra. However, defensive driving is considered to be the safest driving technique around.
That is why Varsity Driving Academy trains all students in defensive driving. There is even a free pick-up and drop-off service for behind the wheel training sessions and a DMV package. The DMV package turns Varsity Driving Academy into a DMV concierge on behalf of the student.
Register for classes today and get started today!